Who We Are

Grace is part of the Episcopal Church, a branch of the Jesus Movement.  We seek to walk the Way of Love -- Loving God and our neighbor.

Our prayer life is rooted in ancient traditions, yet alive with contemporary focus.  Our services follow the patterns found in The Book of Common Prayer.  You can get a fuller understanding of the ways we think and talk about God by listening to some of our weekly sermons.

Come worship with usJoin us in service to others.

Grace welcomes all.  We strive to be a community which seeks to nurture and grow the lives of the faithful, wherever they may be on life's journey.

Deeply Rooted

The history of Grace Church is intertwined with the history of the United States and the local Yorktown community, from pre-Revolutionary days.  For information about the history of Grace and the nearby church graveyard, plesae visit the Grace Historical Church Preservation Foundation website.

Our bimonthly Newsletter offers a current snapshot of the vibrant, joyful life that continues at Grace Church today.

The Rev. Tom Crittenden, Interim Rector

During his 35-year career in the ministry, Rev. Crittenden has helped with the revival of a parish and day school torn by forced resignations to formation of lay pastoral care teams to expand and enhance care for a growing elder parishioner population. He has been involved with revitalizing Christian education and music programs as well as campus building initiatives and historic church restorations.



The Rev. Dr. Jacqueline R. Soltys, Assistant Rector

I was born in Boston, around the time of the Kennedy assassination, hence my first name. (My parents named me after Jacqueline Bouvier Kennedy, so I pronounce it the French way.)  I began my professional life as an academic.  I met my husband, Stuart Henderson, in graduate school at Yale, where we both received our PhDs.   Eventually, I left the work force to raise our two children, Sophia and Grace. I reentered the work world part-time as Christian Education Director at our Episcopal parish in Knoxville, TN. Three years later, we moved to Illinois, where I began the process of pursuing ordination in the Diocese of Chicago.  I was ordained as a Deacon in 2015; as a priest in 2016. 

My family and I relocated to Southern VA from the Chicago area in 2017.  Before we moved, I was serving as Curate at St. James Cathedral in Chicago. 

My husband, a physicist, was recruited by Jefferson Lab in Newport News, where he currently serves as Director.  Our children are now grown-- one in college; the other a college graduate.  I joined the staff of Grace Church in the fall of 2018.


The Rev. Carleton B. Bakkum, Former Rector

The Rev. Carleton Bakkum retired as rector of Grace Church on June 30, 2019, after 30 years of faithful service.










New Jacqueline Photo


CBB pic 2016

Staff Directory

Rector, Rev. Seldon Walker

Denise Wash, Parish Administrator                            

Suzanne Daniel, Choir Director/Organist

Bob Frady, Financial Director 757-349-8425 (direct)

open, Director of Facilities

Kim Lenz, acting Communications Coordinator

Diana Moreland, Director of Children and Youth Ministries

Mrs. Diane Garrison, Nursery Supervisor

Mrs. Elsa Bakkum, M.Div., Resident Spiritual Director           

open, Parish Nurse

Mrs. Brenda Moore, Archivist                                                          

Dr. David Miller, Cemetery Director                                    


Administratively, Parish operations are directed by the Vestry, an elected board whose members serve staggered three-year terms. Vestry members, and their respective commission assignments for the 2020 calendar year are:

Lynn Grimsley, Senior Warden
David O'Brien, Junior Warden and Properties and Administration
Marlene Bryan, Parish Life
Rufus Burney, Parish Life and Christian Formation
David Douglas, Worship
Jim Giesken, Outreach
Karen Jackson, Stewardship
Ed James, Evangelism and Communication
Kim Lenz, Evangelism and Communication
Christine Mahan, Christian Formation
Diana Mason-Smelt, Parish Life
Ellen Thacker, Christian Formation
Empowered by Extend, a church software solution from